How ToSocial Media

How to Unsee Instagram Story After Viewing It

2 Mins read
Unsee Instagram Story After Viewing It

Instagram stories sure are a great way to share posts and life updates temporarily for 24 hours. However, sometimes while casually scrolling we might view someone’s story by mistake. It might be someone you don’t know, or a public account, or someone you are not on good terms with. Your view will be visible to them once they check the impressions under their story. In such a scenario, there is no need to panic. We are here to provide you with the solution to deal with it. This article shall discuss the various ways in which you can unsee someone’s Instagram story after viewing it.

Block the Person to Unsee the Instagram Story


We know that blocking someone on Instagram is an extreme step.

It is important to note that if you block someone on Instagram, both of you shall automatically stop following each other and cannot message each other on the app.

For as long as you keep them blocked, they can neither see your profile nor your view on their story.  But, if you want to unsee their Instagram story after viewing it accidentally, this might seem like a viable step.

Here is how you can block someone on Instagram:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Tap on the search icon at the bottom.
  3. Search for the person whose story you accidentally viewed.
  4. Go to their profile.
  5. Tap on the three horizontal dots on the top right of their profile.
  6. Select the option “Block” from the list that pops up.

    Block account to unsee Instagram Story

  7. Tap on Block to confirm that you want to block the person and any new accounts that they may create.

    Block account on Instagram

 

You must keep the person blocked for at least 24 hours to remove your view of their story. You can later unblock and follow them by following these steps.

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Tap on the profile icon at the bottom.
  3. Tap on the three horizontal bars on the top right of your profile.
  4. Select Settings from the list.Settings under profile on Instagram
  5. Go to Privacy.Privacy Settings under profile on Instagram
  6. Scroll down till you find the option “Blocked Accounts”.

    Blocked Accounts option in Instagram Settings

  7. Tap on unblock against the name of the person that you want to unblock.
  8. Go to their profile.
  9. Click on the Follow button on their profile.

Read more helpful articles related to Instagram:

  1. Best No Crop photo editing apps to post uncropped pictures on Instagram.
  2. Steps to unfollow accounts that don’t follow you on Instagram.
  3. How to download videos from Instagram.

Deactivate Your Account to Unsee the Instagram Story

This is your best bet in case you want to unsee someone’s Instagram after viewing it.

Deactivating your account for 24-48 hours shall mean that you can’t perform any activity on the app for those hours and your account will not be visible to anyone.

Since your account will not be visible, your view of someone’s story cannot be seen either. You can deactivate your Instagram account very easily. Check out this article we have written.

Conclusion


As mentioned earlier, there is no need to get stressed if you view someone’s Instagram story by mistake. With the above-mentioned methods, unseeing a story can be done with a few quick steps.

We hope you find these methods helpful and take caution before viewing someone’s Instagram story the next time.

380 posts

About author
Howdy, I’m Varun Sharma. I’m an Engineer & Geek. I am a fan of technology, programming, and entrepreneurship. Also, an artist & full entertainer dose by nature.
Articles
Related posts
How ToInternetTips & Tricks

How to Fix "Your IP Has Been Temporarily Blocked”

4 Mins read
IP addresses give devices an identity as they share a network, thus enabling communication between them. However, IP addresses get blocked on…
How ToiPhone

How to Unlock iPhone without Passcode

4 Mins read
Losing access to your iPhone due to a forgotten passcode can be a frustrating experience. Imagine being locked out of your device,…
How ToiPhone

How to Fix AirDrop Not Working in iPhone

3 Mins read
AirDrop serves as an invaluable tool for Apple users, facilitating seamless file transfers between devices. However, glitches in its functionality are not…
Intel Newsletter

Get the latest how-to guides, tips and tricks in your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

×
How ToSocial Media

How to Temporarily Deactivate Instagram Account